Mother Morgan Award

The Mother Morgan Award is presented to the Auxiliary who has the most members at the current conference.

The Brennan Family Spirit Award

(formerly The Karen Brennan Spirit Award)

The Karen Brennan Spirit Award was initiated in 2010 by State Auxiliary President Joan Dempsey. When Joan stepped down from being President she wanted to recognize members who have the spirit of volunteering and giving back to the community. Karen was Past President of the Auxiliary to the VSFA 2004-2006 and passed away in 2010.

With the passing of Alan and Sharon Brennan, Joanie wanted to continue the tradition but include Karen's parents spirit as well. Hence, The Brennan Family Spirit Award was born in September 2021.

Please submit name, member auxiliary, how many years with the auxiliary and what they have done for the auxiliary, fire department and community. The person nominating should write why they are nominating the person for recognition.

All nominees are to be emailed to Joan Dempsey at

All submissions will be reviewed and will be presented at the Annual Conference with members of The Brennan's family who are present to present the award.


​​​Williams-Simms Award

The Williams-Simms Award is awarded to the Auxiliary who makes the most donations to the Firefighter's Relief Fund.

The 2023 Brennan Family Spirit Award winner was Carolyn Landis (Hose Co. #4).  From (l-r) Joanie Dempsey (Vienna), Carolyn Landis via phone (Hose Co. #4), Ayla Hottel (Hose Co. #4), and Liz Garnett (Individual Member).

The 2023 Mother Morgan Award was presented to Poquoson by Ayla Hottel (Hose Co. #4) [left]. Grace Sivertson (Poquoson) [right] accepted.

The 2023 Williams-Simms Award was presented to Vienna with Joan Dempsey accepting.

Presidential Point of Light

The Presidential Point of Light is sponsored by the Past President's Club. In order to be eligible, the nominee must have accumulated 4,000 hours of volunteer service in the auxiliary and/or fire department.

In submission, please put nominee name, how many years they have been with your auxiliary, what they have done for your auxiliary and/or the fire department.  Also write why you are nominating them for the award.

All submissions must be submitted by May 1st prior to convention to be considered.  The committee will review all submissions and select an award winner.

Submit nominations to Joan Dempsey at or Jean Pickin at

Lisa Saul (Riner) received The 2023 Jean Pickin Scholarship Award.

Jean Pickin Scholarship Award

The Jean Pickin Scholarship Award is presented to the auxiliary that has donated the most the Scholarship Fund.

Mother Travers Award

The Mothers Travers Award is presented to the Auxiliary who has the most members at all three (3) meetings starting with Conference, Fall Zone Meeting and Spring Zone meeting.

Joan Dempsey (Vienna) [right], presented the 2023 Mother Travers' Award to the Riner Ladies Auxiliary. Becky Saylors [left], President of the Riner Ladies Auxiliary, accepted the award.

The Past President's Club 2023 Presidential Point of Light Award winner was Janice Lokey (Hose Co. #4). 

A picture will be posted at a later date.